Skip to content

A New 4 For Ghostbusters III

Monday, February 1, 2010
by

As we all know by now, Ghostbusters III is a definite go, with the film scheduled to be released in 2012.  The original cast is slated for either supporting or mere cameo roles, which means a new team is going to be handling the meat of the film.  It appears that Eliza Dushku has already been talked about as being aboard, but I was wondering — whom else would you like to see as the new Ghostbusters?

I was going to make this a poll, but for some stupid reason I can’t just make a poll, I have to go to some other website and make an account and blah blah fuck off (why can’t things just be simple?).  So instead I’ll just list my choices and then you can chime-in in the comments with your picks.

Seth Rogen

He would be the ‘Ray-like’ character.

James Franco

I  have this idea that he could be the grown-up Oscar; although it would be very important for him not to try and play the Bill Murry role.

John Krasinski

He wouldn’t have to play like Egon, but he’s tall and lanky, so he would suit the physical part of that role.

Chiwetel Ejiofor

He’s just got that perfect ‘you guys are all idiots’ look a la Winston.

But then if Eliza Dushku is going to appear — would she a Ghostbuster, or have some other role?

And who should play the William Atherton part?

Discuss.
03971semaj

18 Comments leave one →
  1. tgjkennedy permalink
    Tuesday, February 2, 2010 2:37 pm

    I read that it’s going to be the old ghostbusters teaching a young group of ghostbusters the ropes. So I’m not sure how much you need to recast the original group… but Seth Rogan was rumoured. As was Michael Cera. Rumours of a “girl”buster I guess are turning out to be Miss Dushku… which I think could be great.

    I might get heck for this but Ellen Page anyone? I kind of love her, and I think she’s pretty funny.

  2. Tuesday, February 2, 2010 8:40 pm

    If they have to do the “new recruits” approach, I don’t see why they’d need the new characters to match the old ones. Why not come up with, you know, different characters for the new guys? Really, they should do what was more-or-less done for the original cast, and just build characters around the actors’ comic personas.

    All those guys could be fine choices (though has Chiwetel Ejiofor ever done comedy? He was a badass in Redbelt, but I’m not sure the guy’s ever been connected to a laugh, save maybe 2012), but with Rogen you’re risking way overexposure (I like him, but I could easily get tired of him, unless he keeps doing fucked up stuff like Observe & Report).

    And Dushku … why is she a good choice? It’s a comedy, not a look-hot-and-blandedy. I guess I haven’t seen all that much of her, but she seems like a pretty generic hottie-slash-adequate-performer. Ellen Page is a much better choice. Good call, TGJK.

    Personally, I’d want them to keep this GB:TNG business mostly in the background and keep the focus on the big four (and find room for Dana and sweet talk Rick Moranis out of retirement). Instead of basically making the same movie again, a la Ghostbusters 2, I think they should go a little left field nuts and do something unexpected with the established characters, a la Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey.

    But I guess it doesn’t matter what we hope — the script is written , the release date is set, and I guess it’s gonna be in damn 3D. All signs point to cash-in and nothing more. Hell, they’ll probably fill it with lovesick teenage ghosts to hit up that Twilight crowd. Make’em 10-foot blue ghosts and get some of that Avatar money, too.

    • Tuesday, February 2, 2010 10:53 pm

      “Why not come up with, you know, different characters for the new guys?”

      “But I guess it doesn’t matter what we hope — the script is written” . . . and do you really trust them to not follow the same formula? It may be a movie we all love, but it’s still Hollywood. I agree with your sentiment, but I don’t hold out any hope in hell of it actually happening, hence my picks — it seems fairly certain the new guys will most of the run of it.

      And yes Beal, Dushku would be great. Way better than Ellen Page, I’m sorry, Tanya (how much does that girl weigh? 87 pounds? She probably wouldn’t even be able to carry a proton pack).

      And definitely, definitely, definitely NO Michael Cera. The Ghostbusters need to be men, not whiny little boys.

  3. Tuesday, February 2, 2010 11:03 pm

    Aside from her being contractually required to do another Maxim covershoot for the month of release, why would it be good to have Dushku in this? Was her character responsible for a lot of comedy in Buffy or Dollhouse? Or would she have to be one of the straightmen the funny guys play off of (in which case I guess she could work)?

    And couldn’t Ellen Page’s smallness be a source of humour? I mean really, between the two of them, Page seems to obviously be the better actor, especially at comedy.

    • Tuesday, February 2, 2010 11:17 pm

      If they’ve already determined there’s going to be a female GB, then you have to pick someone; Dushku has the physicality needed to do a role like this, Page doesn’t. Sure, it might be funny to see her struggling around under all that equipment, but you’d have to ask yourself “why would they hire her if that were the case?” You still have to work within the ‘reality’ of the circumstances, and Page just wouldn’t work.

      And while Dushku has never played any overtly ‘comedic’ roles that I know of, she would be a good sort of ‘straight-man’, tough-chick foil for the others to play off of.

  4. Wednesday, February 3, 2010 12:52 pm

    Well, whatever they do, Robert Downey Jr. is bound to turn up somewhere…or at least the rumours will persist for months that he’s going to be in it. Hey, maybe he could play Winston!?

    And yeah, Dushku? Not funny – not that she would necessarily need to be. But she’s not (ahem, sorry James) a particularly strong actor. And I don’t think being able to realistically hold a proton pack is worth the lack of funny or good acting. Do you think any of the originals could realistically carry a proton pack? They were ‘professors’ and not exactly in the best of shape…

    And what about Will Arnett for the William Atherton roll? Casting another William would make good continuity sense. That and he plays smarmy real well. And he’s hilarious.

    • Wednesday, February 3, 2010 8:45 pm

      Right — even those guys appeared to find them heavy sometimes . . . so my point was simply how could Ellen Page handle one of them?

  5. SarahP permalink
    Wednesday, February 3, 2010 2:34 pm

    I would love to see Mos Def in the mix. And Amy Adams is funny and can act.

    • Wednesday, February 3, 2010 8:46 pm

      Both good choices. At first I was going to make a long list and Mos Def was going to be on it, but then I went the short-list route.

  6. Thursday, February 4, 2010 12:12 am

    Whoa, where did the Mos Def love come from? I’ve heard that his latest album is pretty darn good, but as an actor, why are both of you bringing him up?

    (And Rick Moranis is just a few inches taller than Ellen Page, and he successfully boarded a bus in a proton pack.)

    • Thursday, February 4, 2010 12:47 am

      Well, yeah — maybe Don Cheadle would be a better choice.

      And get over Ellen Page — it’s not going to happen.

    • SarahP permalink
      Thursday, February 4, 2010 10:00 pm

      I think he’s funny, and cute – I like watching him. He’s no Olivier, but I don’t really think any of the original Ghostbusters were either (okay, Murray has since proven he can act). He’s kinda a background actor, but that’s alright, at least for one of them.

      Don Cheadle might be a bit too old. And bitter.

  7. tgjkennedy permalink
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 10:28 am

    I think you’re all thinking Mos Def would be good because he looked good in a proton pack in Be Kind Rewind.

    I still vote Ellen Page.

  8. tgjkennedy permalink
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 10:29 am

    Anna Faris is now listed as a “rumoured” cast member as well.

    • Tuesday, February 9, 2010 10:58 am

      No. Never.

      NO.

      • tgjkennedy permalink
        Wednesday, February 10, 2010 12:58 am

        Yes. Apparently. YES.

        Does anyone know when we’ll get some concrete answers on this? I go to Worstpreviews.com for my movie knowledge, but they haven’t posted anything Ghostbustery in a while.

  9. Monday, May 3, 2010 11:37 am

    Should’ve updated this post earlier — apparently everything has died:

    “On January 13, 2010, Ivan Reitman confirmed that he will be directing the film, but on 17 March 2010 the contract was dissolved. In March 2010, Bill Murray appeared on the Late Show With David Letterman and talked about his return to Ghostbusters III, stating “I’d do it only if my character was killed off in the first reel”.

Leave a Reply

