Skip to content

Music n’ Movies – Top Trailer Songs

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

I’m a trailer addict. I frequent traileraddict.com on a daily basis, and I’m angry when they have nothing new to show me.

Although my biggest pet peeve is a trailer that gives everything away, I still can’t help but want to know what’s coming out.

When a trailer is good, I want to watch it multiple times, and the best trailers are the ones that use music along with editing to their advantage. Most of the new music I’m introduced to is thanks to googling “____ trailer song”.Trailers brought me David Bowie and ELO.

Here are my Top 10 favourite songs from trailers in recent years, and in no particular order.

.

.

Daybreakers

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9roxtugaUo]

Running up that Hill – Placebo. I’d know the voice of Placebo’s lead singer Bryan Molko anywhere. Placebo was a staple of my music collection in high school, and this trailer renewed my interest in them. Turns out it’s a cover of the Kate Bush song “Running up that Hill” and boy howdy do they do a nice job. It’s also effectively used in the trailer, although not used in the movie. The movie isn’t terrible, and has one of the goriest slow motion out-of-nowhere scenes I can remember in recent years. Willem Dafoe is pretty good on it (ignoring his accent), and Ethan Hawke does his best to be all pathetic about his vampirey-ness. The song is not featured in the movie at all. Lame.

.

Where the Wild Things Are

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rhfywi5Y8TM]

Wake Up – Arcade Fire. The lyrics for this song so perfectly match the action in the trailer that it just blew me away. Great song, great trailer. Sadly a great trailer does not always mean a great movie. I was pretty disappointed with this film, although I did appreciate it a great deal, I didn’t enjoy it. The second movie on this list directed by Spike Jonze, I wonder if he has any say in the songs used in the trailer. I was disappointed the song is not featured in the movie at all.  Here’s an interesting article about how some believe the song may have contributed to box office sales for the movie.

.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GiLxkDK8sI&feature=related]

Mr. Blue Sky – Electric Light Orchestra. By far one of my favourite songs ever, and I’d never even heard it before this trailer came out. I use this as my alarm every morning (thanks CD playing alarm clock! You’re the best!). I highly recommend it as a top-of-the-morning song. It makes me want to dance around and be all happy. This film is directed by Michel Gondry, who is another one of my absolute favourite directors. Even writing about this song makes me want to go listen to this song right now…

.

Adaptation

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tb0jEfkg0pU]

Under Pressure – Queen featuring David Bowie. “Like technology versus horse.” One of those movies I don’t let myself watch for 2 or 3 years so that when I watch it it’s like watching it all over again. This trailer jumpstarted my obsession with David Bowie and Queen. The only film I’ve seen in the last 10 years where Nicolas Cage is at all likeable. The only film I’ve seen in the last 10 years where Nicolas Cage isn’t doing an off-beat Elvis impression. Great dance move at the end.

.

Pineapple Express

[Youtube= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQqUyBN4g8M%5D

Paperplanes – M.I.A. I certainly hadn’t heard of M.I.A before this trailer, but now this song appears on every mix I’ve made in the last 6 months. Didn’t realize until recently that it’s a direct sample from The Clash’s “Straight to Hell”. [Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQwm1v1R-qM]

It’s a great trailer and a great song that seem like they were made for each other. Although I love the song and I have M.I.A’s album, I don’t remember liking any of the other songs. Again, the song does not appear in the movie. What’s with that? It does get featured in Slumdog Millionaire, however.

.

Closer

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlyqGmPXgBI]

Blower’s Daughter – Damien Rice and Caramel – Suzanne Vega.

I just really like this song. The movie is great too, and proves that Julia Roberts can actually act. Natalie Portman is fantastic… well everyone’s fantastic in this film.

.

9

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnoJecu9e7c]

Welcome Home – Coheed and Cambria – The instrumental version, thank god. This song is better in the trailer. The movie was good, but did anyone else find the ending was really anticlimactic? The movie up until the last 15 minutes or so is just fantastic, but then the ending didn’t do it for me at all.

.

Sin City

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKFLrTYKIXk]

The Servant (Instrumental) – Cells. I want to say I love this trailer because of the song, but it’s possibly the song plus Jessica Alba’s crazy cowgirl dance. They didn’t choreograph it or anything, they just told her to dance. A pretty good film, but a little high on pretty and low on the plot. I’m very interested to see the sequel because Johnny Depp might be in it, and I think they might be able to improve on the good of the first film and the bad as well.

.

The Last House on the Left (remake)

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWxDfXm88lY]

Sweet Child O’ Mine – Taken By Trees. I know, this movie shouldn’t be high on anyone’s list of “bests” (although Stephen King put it on his list of favourite movies of the year, go figure). The trailer is eerily beautiful, though. I know this song very well, but this haunting cover is perfect for a creepy trailer. It’s very familiar to me, but something about it isn’t quite right. I was freaked out when I first saw this. It made me mark the premiere date of the film in my calendar. And the movie is pretty good too, if you like horror flicks.

.

W.

[Youtube= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=weELpc3pYMs%5D

Once in a Lifetime – Talking Heads. Someone must have decided this song was perfect for this movie, and then individually selected each scene to go with the song. If not then they wrote the song to go with the trailer, which I don’t think is the case given the chronology of events. This trailer is fantastic. It should win editing awards. I could watch it over and over again, and I don’t even know this band all that well. The movie was OK. I don’t remember having any specific feelings about it other than that. But I remember the trailer… that’s probably a bad sign.

.

Honourable mention: Clash of the Titans

The Bird and the Worm – The Used. Just because I’m excited about this movie – check out the action to music melding of the new Clash of the Titans trailer. Medieval + heavy metal = Woot! I’m a huge fan of the original, mainly because they showed it in my 9th grade English class to explain “the quest” story, and many moons later, the effects are still hilarious.

NEW:

[Youtube= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpZ5D_Wc4cA&feature=fvst%5D

OLD:

[Youtube= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqjJ5RrQrFw%5D

.

ydennekaynat

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunday, January 17, 2010 11:44 pm

    I think this one’s definitely got to be there:

  2. Sunday, January 17, 2010 11:46 pm

    Funnily enough, I’ve come to hate trailers . . . I find that they often give way too much away, and now, if there’s a movie I know I want to see, I will avoid the trailer like the plague.

    • tgjkennedy permalink
      Monday, January 18, 2010 12:59 pm

      I think there should be a law that they can only show footage from the first 1/4 of the movie… or they can shoot additional footage for the trailer (like a teaser…)

  3. Wednesday, January 20, 2010 1:58 pm

    Good call on the Where the Wild Things Are trailer. I quite enjoyed it as well, but I also quite enjoyed the movie too, so go figure. The funny thing is that the trailer takes about as long to watch as it does to read the book.

    • Anonymous permalink
      Wednesday, January 20, 2010 2:21 pm

      Maybe that’s what Jonze was going for…

      • SarahP permalink
        Wednesday, January 20, 2010 2:22 pm

        Sorry, that last comment was me – forgot to fill in my name.

Leave a Reply

