Skip to content

Dollhouse — Episode 2.11 ‘Getting Closer’

Monday, January 11, 2010

I’ve been feeling lazy lately, and my brain is just way too completely fried from the awesomeness of this episode to bother writing anything coherent, so all I’ll say is:

Holywhatthefuckmygod.

From tgjkennedy:

I totally agree. I just watched this episode and my head hurts. It feels like what normally paced plot twists feel like, but ramped up on energy drinks and pixie sticks. This is what it feels like when a complex plot that should span 5 seasons is stuffed into 8 or so episodes. It hurts, but it’s kind of a good hurt.

*Spoilers ahead*

We’re thrown a lot of information in this episode, most of which I haven’t even begun to sort out. Holy plot twists Batman! I did not see any of this coming. Trying to suss out what’s going to happen from now on just continues the brain pain.

So Saunders is a sleeper agent. Should have seen that coming, probably. Did not see her killing Bennet, or the incredibly sad and poignant way it happened. Now I can see why Topher is all messed up in the future. Not only does his technology cause the world to end, but the only girl he’s ever liked had her brains blown out in front of him. Poor, poor Topher.

Bennet and Caroline’s back story is explained. It’s kind of generic, so I was pretty disappointed. I’m also sick of the “pretty geek who doesn’t know she’s pretty” aspect of it. There’s no way someone who looks like Summer Glau would ever think she was ugly. Maybe she’s not stereotypically pretty, but I think anyone would concur that she’s interesting looking. Girls are raised to identify what is or is not attractive thanks to beauty being of the utmost value in society. You might want to argue with me, but it’s a sad fact of life. Unless Bennet Halverson was raised in a social and cultural vacuum, or suffered some kind of emotional trauma related to her self esteem, she would know she was at least passably attractive. This has been an issue of mine since the ugly duckling who becomes a swan thanks to a makeover and some new clothes has become a staple of TV and movies. There is slightly more to the Bennet character though, so I’ll let it slide this time. Don’t do it again, Joss, ok?

The major twist of the episode is saved for the end and I have to go with James on this one – WTF? I don’t know what’s going on. Hopefully next week’s episode explains who Boyd is to me in great detail. With pictures. Maybe some bold headings. Right now I don’t get it.

So James, any more thoughts?
03971semajydennekaynatesuohllod

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 21, 2010 1:31 am

    I didn’t even realize that you had added to this post until just now (whoops) when I posted ‘Hollow Men’, which basically contains my thoughts on both these episodes.

  2. Thursday, January 21, 2010 11:08 am

    And now I realize how douchey it was for me not to comment on what you said.

    I agree that the Caroline/Bennett stuff seemed a bit trite, but again, remember that the original intention was probably to develop it slowly through flashbacks all 3rd season. But instead it got crammed into one episode.

    As for the other point about the “pretty geek who doesn’t know she’s pretty”, um, well, I get it (did you see how short her skirt was in the scene where she first meets Caroline? Someone truly ‘mousy’ would not wear that), but it doesn’t bother me as much as you. I just saw it as a television thing.

    • tgjkennedy permalink
      Friday, January 22, 2010 5:37 pm

      I think it bothers me more because I’m a girl. It’s been a pet peeve of mine for a while and I hold Joss to a higher standard. lol.

Leave a Reply

