Skip to content

More Visual Feasting

Thursday, November 12, 2009
by

tyf676fhf

#1 / #2

I’ve been hanging on to a couple of things for another Visual Feast post for a while now, and since today I went down to the Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography to look around and peer what I could peer, I thought it would be the perfect time to throw them up.

Let’s start with the Museum.  There were three exhibits running, but only two were free, so guess which two I’m going to talk about?  You’re so smart!

The first was titled “To Another Country: Japanese Photographers See The World.”  I’m sure you can guess what the subject matter was.  The scant two images on that page are protected, and I forget the names of most of the photographers featured (though I can tell you most of the work was mid-20th c.), so, basically, I can’t show you anything from the show, and when I tell you some of them were good but a lot of them were somewhat plain, it won’t mean much to you.  You’ll just have to trust me.

The second featured the winners and honourables from the 2009 New Cosmos of Photography contest.  New Cosmos of Photography is a photography magazine sponsored by Cannon, and I can surmise that they run this exhibition every year to give up and coming photographers.  This year’s winner (again, didn’t get the name) to me was quite boring — just a series of ‘everyday life’ type of portraits of mostly old women.  Nothing all that different or unique about them.  There was another one that was really great,  though this time it’s not my fault I didn’t get the game because it actually wasn’t there, but . . . again, this doesn’t help you.  Finally, the work by Akinori Tao was, I thought, quite clever; he used a bunch of little plastic toy soldiers, and, in a series of close up, highly overexposed, washed-out photos, had them doing things like mowing down toy sheep with a tank, or beheading a sheep and proudly carrying around the head.  I assume it was a ‘horrors of war’ thing, and I like the way it was done.  But do you think I can find any of the pics online?  The only thing I can give you is the past winners of the exhibition.

The World Press Photo Contest

From the site:

For over fifty years the World Press Photo contest has captured images of our times. Our archive of winning photos is not only a record of more than half a century of human history, but a showcase of successive styles in photography and reportage.

There are over 10,000 images archived there.  Click on the pic below and go nuts.

2008025AI

Russell James

Russell James is one of the world’s premier fashion and beauty photographers, being one of the main photographers for Victoria’s Secret.  Good job if you can get it.  He’s also done a lot of nudes, which were recently compiled in the book teNeues.

kgg

And by doing this, we get a good idea of what’s in the book.  However, when he’s not spending his time photographing some of the most beautiful tall women in the world, he goes off into the Australian outback and compiles separate collections of both marvellous landscapes and the lives and times of the Aborigines.

uyftyfy

His official site has galleries of his best work on display.
03971semaj

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

