Skip to content

RIP: Dollhouse

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

We all sort of knew this was coming, but the news is still sad, especially since the last episode, Belonging, was so excellent. Fox will air the remainder of the 13 episodes for this season. Here’s hoping Joss will continue the series in comic book form the way he’s done with Angel, Firefly, and Buffy.

The news actually broke because a writer from the show, Maurissa Tancharoen, posted it on her Twitter page.

This is what Joss had to say:

“Hmm. Apparently my news is not news.

I don’t have a lot to say. I’m extremely proud of the people I’ve worked with: my star, my staff, my cast, my crew. I feel the show is getting better pretty much every week, and I think you’ll agree in the coming months. I’m grateful that we got to put it on, and then come back and put it on again. I’m off to pursue internet ventures/binge drinking. Possibly that relaxation thing I’ve read so much about. By the time the last episode airs, you’ll know what my next project is. But for now there’s a lot of work still to be done, and disappointment to bear.

Thank you all for your support, your patience, your excellent adverts. See you again. -j.”

Here’s a nice photo memorial from The Live Feed to commemorate the passing of the show.

Let’s all look forward to Cabin in the Woods, and hope that the Whedon television curse is somehow lifted in the future.

UPDATE – December 4:

I read an interview with Joss today from the Chicago Tribune called “Sex, secrets and ‘Dollhouse’: Joss Whedon talks about the end of his Fox show” and unfortunately there was some news about the future of Dollhouse that is kind of sad. Hopefully fans will be happy with the final result.

Ryan: Will it go on in any format of any kind?DH-Ep208_Sc58-65_1248

Whedon: No, I don’t think so.

Ryan: No? Web series, a comic book, anything?

Whedon: No. I’m going to finish this. What’s interesting about it is there. I don’t feel like there is some unfulfilled thing that would be well served by [continuing the story]. If I make a Web series it’s not going to be owned by Fox. Let’s be very clear on that one. Or [owned by any studio or network] — that’s not a dis on Fox. But I’ll make [a Web series] of my own and I don’t think Eliza is dying to jump onto the tiny screen right now. And it doesn’t work as a comic [because it’s] just people talking. 

I’m not going to go and try and make a movie out of it because I’ve already made a movie where I had to explain who ten people who already know each other are. It was exhausting. So I think that we’ll just we’ll say, “Here is our best effort,” go out with a bang and then we will move on. I think what we will end up having done is sort of this very glorious 26-hour miniseries.
ydennekaynatesuohllod

6 Comments leave one →
  1. tgjkennedy permalink
    Thursday, November 12, 2009 12:02 am

    Also I’m calling the review for The Cabin in the Woods right now. Mine!

  2. Thursday, November 12, 2009 3:50 am

    Those Fox fucking douchbags. Why do it right now? Why not wait until after the two-parter in December to see if things pick up? You could argue it’s had it’s chances already, and that they’d need to know now so that they can wrap it up at the end of this season, but . . . still, fuck you!

    While comics would be dandy, I actually hope he tries taking it to another (preferably cable) network. Think about how dark and great it could get if it was on HBO or Showtime or something.

    Well, whatever happens, we’ll stay with it right until the bitter, bitter end.

  3. tgjkennedy permalink
    Thursday, November 12, 2009 11:07 am

    Apparently some fans are holding out the hopes that they can save it a second time a la Jericho… But I think if Joss is announcing it it’s probably too late by now.

    Have you heard about Ripper? Joss wants to do a BBC miniseries about Giles battling his demons…

  4. tgjkennedy permalink
    Monday, November 16, 2009 6:41 pm

    The last I heard about it was Joss talking about it in an interview early last year… and he said it would be more of an old man and his ghosts type of story… I thought it would be more interesting to do Giles as a young man getting into demony trouble, but I don’t think that’s the idea anymore. It’s being pitched as a 3 part miniseries or something.

    • Monday, November 16, 2009 10:17 pm

      I wonder how that would fit in with Buffy Season 8 . . . hmm. Have to just wait and see, I guess.

Leave a Reply

