Skip to content

Buffy – Season 8: After These Messages . . . We’ll Be Right Back!

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

buffy-season-8-comic-book-issue-20-cover-gq-8437bAgain the cynic in me comes to the forefront before reading this — it just seems like needless filler, a way to stretch out the series and use some of the material from the Buffy Animated Series which was started but then mothballed.  But as I’ve said before, even Buffy-filler manages to be better than most stuff, so we’ll see how they go about it here.

And they make it a dream sequence.  Oh god.

Okay — total pointless filler.

So basically, the question is, do I enjoy going back and re-visiting the good ‘ole days of Season 1, re-living the characters as they were at that point?  Well, not really.  I actually think Season 1 is the worst season of them all, and at this point I don’t find the wink-wink naivety cute, just cloying.  So for me, this flashback stuff isn’t all that interesting, although I’m sure most of the people reading Season 8 will love it.

Although, I have to say, since they are going back and do something like this, at least they have Buffy aware that it’s a dream and ‘in the past;’ it would be incredibly boring if it had all been ‘in that time,’ you know, the Buffy of that time, with her just waking up at the end and going ‘wow, that was neat!’  This at least gives her a chance to compare then and now and to see how far she’s come and how much things have changed.  But, again, so we really need that?  She seemed really concerned about the fact that she killed Willow in the future, but I don’t really see why; Willow had gone evil again, and probably wanted to die anyway, so what’s the problem?  She doesn’t have to ‘re-live’ it in the future again anyway.  Although, killing your best friend, no matter under what context, is probably very trying.  Can’t say I know a lot about that.

Although she still did just wake up at the end and basically say, ‘wow that was neat!’  A bit of a stinker, this one.

Oh well.
03971semaj
8yffub

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tgjkennedy permalink
    Thursday, January 8, 2009 7:21 pm

    I too found this issue totally pointless. I want my $2.99 back.

  2. mike permalink
    Monday, June 8, 2009 1:13 am

    When you write things like “for me, this flashback stuff isn’t all that interesting, although I’m sure most of the people reading Season 8 will love it” you’re being a bad writer.

    BAD writer!

    It’s just so passive-aggresive and completely pointless.

    Otherwise I found your blog almost worth reading.

    • Monday, June 8, 2009 1:17 am

      You just did exactly what you accuse me of doing.

      Which, by the way, makes absolutely no sense.

Leave a Reply

