Skip to content

Angel – After The Fall (Chs. 9 – 13)

Friday, November 21, 2008

51vqxomsgul_sl500_aa240_I’m assuming Vol. 3 of AtF encompasses these five issues, as the first volume contained five, but stupidly, even though it’s pre-orderable at Amazon already, nowhere can I find an actual listing that tells me what’s in it.  So, given that, right now, issue 13 is the latest available, and five is such a cozy number, I’m simply going to roll with it and if I’m off, well, then, I’m off.

So now we’re basically down to basics.  The Lords are dead, Lorne is doing what his character is best suited for — taking care of the civilians (read: staying out of the way) — the rest of the troupe is back at the hotel, Gunn is the Primo Bad . . . the stage is set for things to really move into high gear.

Finally, we get the info that there’s either some sort of glamour over L.A., so the rest of the world doesn’t know there’s anything wrong (or something else which basically amounts to the same thing).  There’s a relief.  Now I can stop complaining about it.  Although one thing I will complain about — typos.  Two or three so far.  C’mon, I mean, that’s just unacceptable.  How do you get a typo in a comic book, where every word has to be printed by hand and then inked?  You’d think someone would notice.  Unless both the writer and editor don’t know their grammar, in which case . . . IDW, can I have a job?

About that high gear I was talking about.  The notion of the Visions has returneth.  Nice.  And I like the way it’s somewhat random; it was just some random demon who was found out by a gang of vamps, who then used the visions to get to Gunn and turn him, who then gets the visions from the demon . . . okay, a bit convoluted, but it ties it all together, and not obviously, not sentimentally, and in that way of chaos that the visions were always supposed to represent.  So — kudos.  But then . . . they aren’t the real visions.  Simply more W&H trickery.  Again, when will I learn to read everything first before doing the writing here?  But it still all makes sense, plays out in a giant ‘pre-ordainded’ way, much like Season 4 did with Jasmine.  I like those types of story-arcs.  But damn if they’re not confusing when you’re in the middle of them.

And, again, can we PLEASE get a real artist on this book?  Is this the best IDW can do?  Becuase if so, move this friggin’ thing over to Dark Horse, immediately, please.  Cordelia, on pg. 7 of Issue 12, looks like some sort of 80 year-old male hobbit.  Seriously.  Who is this Nick Runge guy?  Or is Stephen Mooney’s fault?  Well, whomever, I don’t care, get them away from this series.

Well, to wrap up, I was starting to get an inkling this was all actually about Illyria, regardless of how much Wes was going on that it was about Angel, because, face it, Illyira really is the most powerful of all of them, especially from an Grand-Evil point of view.  If W&H wanted something, why wouldn’t it be a god?  And of course Gunn is the perfect way to get to her.  But is she actually dead or going to die?  Probably not, but it makes good story.  I hope Gwen stays dead, though.  And they can knock Nina off while they’re at it.  Don’t know why, just think she’s pointless.

Now that I’m caught up, I think I’m going to review one issue at a time.  Unlike Buffy – Season 8, which is clearly separated into mostly four-issue arcs, AtF is really just one long ongoing story.  So each issue really can be looked at individually, where with BS8 there’d be no point unless it’s specifically designated a stand-alone.

So, yeah.  That’s the new plan.  End of November.
03971semaj
legna

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tgjkennedy permalink
    Monday, November 24, 2008 1:14 pm

    I must have missed the typos… Glad you’ve taken ucp the reviews again. I get my comics pretty infrequently and have difficulties sticking to a schedule. :)

  2. James17930 permalink
    Monday, November 24, 2008 9:04 pm

    Your source dried up?

  3. tgjkennedy permalink
    Thursday, January 8, 2009 7:37 pm

    My source didn’t dry up, he just forgets to grab me my comics now and then, so I don’t get them monthly but every few months. (Like today I got the last three issues of Angel and Buffy. Any new Spikes out?)

  4. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, January 8, 2009 11:19 pm

    No new Spikes on the near horizon. Have you read Spike: After the Fall?

  5. tgjkennedy permalink
    Friday, January 9, 2009 12:30 am

    Yes. I have the first 3. There should be more, I hope.

Leave a Reply

