Skip to content

Our Opinion Of Their Opinion (Pt. I)

Monday, June 23, 2008

By: Beal, graeme powell, James17930, Sarah P. & Tanya K.

Here’s a surprise: someone published a list on the Internet! This time around, it was convenience store impulse-rack mainstay Entertainment Weekly with their countdown of 100 “New Movie Classics.” By their definition, “new” includes only the last 25 years (sorry, Death Wish II!), which means that none of us writing this can be classified as “new” anymore. Which is sad: we bunch of non-new people, sitting at our computers, our bones aching, nitpicking an Entertainment Weekly online list. Textbook sad.

We’ll begin with selected numbers from 100 down to 50 (lists are here and here), and get to the remainder later.

100. South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut

graeme powell: Never liked the show. Didn’t see the movie.

Tanya K: I have fond memories of this from high school . . . fuzzy, fond memories.

Beal: Very deserving of its spot. I’m trying to think of a movie that had me, my mother, and my Drew laughing harder in the theatre, and I’m failing. I’ll keep trying, though. But we’re talking “classic” here, so my opinion doesn’t matter, what matters is that everyone else who saw it loved it. AND it has the added bonus of being the turning point for the show, where it changed from being just tons shock-based humour to the smartest satire on TV (featuring tons of shock-based humour).

Sarah P: Oh pleeeeze!

James17930: One of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen. Probably should have been higher, and the fact they put it at 100 suggests they were unsure and did this as a pity choice. C’mon EW, grow a pair!

99. The Blair Witch Project

gp: I dug it when it first came out – loved that you didn’t actually see anything, and I thought the format was fresh and exciting. Haven’t seen it in nine years though, so I’m not sure if I’d still feel the same way, what with the kids and their YouTube.

S: Scared the pants off me –- not literally, thankfully.

J: The techniques introduced here are still being used to great effect though (evidence Cloverfield). So, yes, a deserved entry on the list.

T: I concur. I watched this in the middle of summer, in the afternoon, in a room filled with sunshine, and still I wanted to hide under the blankets after. Very clever, and based on the amount of times it’s been parodied, obviously a classic.

98. The Talented Mr. Ripley

gp: Totally didn’t expect this to be on the list, but I think it’s a great adaptation, and a nice riff on Hitchcock, mixed with Minghella’s poetic sensibilities.

S: Needs to be higher up on the list.

J: Bored the hell out of me when I saw it and can’t imagine a different response now. Don’t know why it’s here. If some actual deserving movie is not on this list because of this one, well, then that’s just sad.

T: I agree with this, but I haven’t seen it since it came out.

97. Glory

gp: Historical films are usually sappy, but rarely are they sappy and poignant and so good at the same time.

J: This one should be much higher. About the only movie (other than maybe Election) where you could accuse Matthew Broderick of actually acting.

96. Far From Heaven

gp: Again, surprised this made the list, but I thought it was a neat little film. No mention by EW of All That Heaven Allows from 1955, which this film is clearly homage-ing, and distorting.

B: I loved the pants off this movie back in theatres, saw it twice in fact. But I haven’t seen it since. And I rarely hear it mentioned. Which makes me think it doesn’t fit the definition of “classic.” Really good, sure. But “classic” requires some cultural impact, don’t you think?

T: I know I’ve seen it, but I remember being disappointed, so I don’t think this should be on the list.

95. In the Mood for Love

J: Want to see this desperately, and can’t believe I haven’t yet — looks like we’re all in the same boat here.

T: True.

94. Full Metal Jacket

gp: Nowhere near as ‘messed-up’ a film as some people like to say because they think it’s the cool thing to say. Kubrick’s vision is clear, and the film’s message could apply to any modern war.

J: Actually graeme, I believe they usually say it’s ‘fucked-up.’

gp: (does spit take)

93. Ed Wood

gp: Reverend Lemon: Welcome to the fold, brother. Welcome. Praise the lord, brother. Do you reject Satan and all his evils?
Bunny Breckinridge (Bill Murray): Sure.

S: Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

92. Menace II Society

J: Seems none of us crackers has seen this one either.

91. Back to the Future

gp: If this were my list, it would be much higher. Like at least number 8, maybe 7.

S: Michael J. Fox is so CUTE!

J: I think BttF: II is better, personally, but I understand how the first one had it’s own thing, and the element of surprise and discovery yadda yadda.

T: I concur with Sarah. Too bad the clock tower was destroyed in that fire at Universal Studios.

90. Napoleon Dynamite

gp: The Liger line is still funny, and the dancing was great, wouldn’t put it on this list though.

T: Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one in the world who didn’t like this movie.

B: You aren’t. I was sorta hoping whatever faulty gene it is that made this movie so popular would have become recessive by now. Is this list truly a ranking? Because seriously, Napoleon Dynamite is one ahead of Back to the Future? Only in a godless universe full of pain could such a thing come to be.

S: Forgettable movie that got way too much attention.

J: Or ahead of Glory?!?! I also think this movie is surpremely retarded and should not be anywhere near this list. Horribly directed too — it just jumps around all over the place, which was maybe intended, but it still makes it bad.

89. Breaking the Waves

gp: Lars von Trier is a master filmmaker, and this was my introduction to his particular brand of realism. I hope Dogville is also on this list.

S: My startling introduction to von Trier had me fall in love with Emily Watson along with the film.

J: I’ve seen this and remember I loved it, but for some reason I can’t really remember it. Haven’t seen Dogville, but I can say that Dancer in the Dark would also be just as deserving.

88. Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery

gp: In 30 years we’ll probably look at this film and think: why the heck did we find that funny? But we did.

87. Swingers

J: I’ve seen this but I can’t remember, overall, what I thought of it. What I do remember is the very last scene where Vince Vaughn thinks he’s flirting with the woman, but it turns out she’s just talking to her baby. I thought that was clever.

86. Y Tu Mama Tambien

gp: Small, intimate character study/road trip movie. Cauron’s style is impeccable.

J: Awesome movie. Probably should be higher.

T: Fantastic movie by my favourite director. Should be higher on the list.

85. The 40-Year Old Virgin

gp: Carrell’s hilarious. About the movie, I was ‘meh’.

S: Felt like the film lasted 40 years.

J: A decent, funny movie, but should never show up on a list like this. I have a feeling that after we finish this list, we’re gonna have a huge list of our own of films that should have made it and didn’t.

T: I really liked this movie. It made me laugh. But no, it should not be on this list.

84. Sideways

gp: Maybe it’ll get better on a second viewing, but this flick didn’t really do anything for me. Love Giamatti though.

S: Made me want to drink wine. In copious amounts. Which is a good thing.

J: Sarah, is that really you?

T: Couldn’t even get through it once. Bored out of my mind.

83. Evil Dead 2

gp: It’s fun and all, but let’s not confuse cult good for actually good.

B: And let’s not confuse good for classic, graeme. Classic means something people will keep going back to. Classic means it has an impact, a resonance. Evil Dead absolutely has this. And beyond that, screw you, jack. Evil Dead 2 is actually good.

S: I’m always more excited about it before I start watching it.

J: I’m with graeme on this one. Ridiculous this is on here.

T: Classic : historically memorable, or serving as a standard of excellence. I haven’t seen any of the Evil Dead movies. I know, a transgression on my part, but I’ll get to them in time.

82. Lost in Translation

gp: Liked it. Apparently Coppola wrote the role with Bill Murray in mind. That’s pretty cool.

J: The first time I saw this I thought it was actually racist, and then I came to Asia . . . and now I know better.

T: Ha ha. I liked this movie for what it was, but I don’t think it really deserved all the hype. Fantastic soundtrack though . . .

81. Moonstruck

gp: A ho-hum kind of story, but everything clicks — acting, writing, directing. Always fun to watch.

J: Funny that they think anyone who reads their magazine nowadays has actually seen or listens to anything involving Cher.

80. Michael Clayton

gp: I can see this one becoming a classic. Some great moments, and the script and tone of the film respect its audience, without dumbing down.

S: Smart, tense, high-class cinematics – glad to see this one on the list.

J: But, this brings us to the question of whether ‘instant classic’ is an oxymoron or not. Can a movie less than a year old really be considered ‘classic?’

79. Waiting for Guffman

gp: I’m waiting for Spinal Tap to appear somewhere in the top 20, probably number 11, but WfG is a near perfect comedy. Best in Show is just as good though.

J: Best in Show was stupid. Haven’t seen this one though.

T: I would say definitely a classic.

78. Terminator 2: Judgement Day

gp: Gave me nightmares as a kid. Still a great piece of Hollywood action.

T: This movie stands up, even 17 years later. My dad got to see this in 3-D in a theatre in Los Angeles, and for that I will always be jealous.

B: How is that possible? T2 wasn’t shot in 3D, and I haven’t heard anything about a remastering to 3D. Unless you mean that Universal Studios ride they made with Cameron and all the cast.

T: Ah, that’s probably where he saw it. That makes me slightly less jealous.

77. Sid and Nancy

T: Considering I’m a ginormous Gary Oldman fan, I should go rent this now.

J: Aren’t you supposed to be at work?

76. The Departed

gp: Scorsese makes messy, disorganized films, but when they work, they work, and I found myself unable not to like this one. Does it belong on the list? Not yet. Needs to be revaluated in ten years or so.

S: Ridiculously over-hyped, this movie was nothing more than a re-hash of dozens of other movies, cast with some big stars. Whatever.

J: I actually agree with Sarah. Decent film, but nothing real new or overly interesting. Mystic River was the much better Boston crime story.

T: I agree. No surprises here, other than Jack Nicholson can still act, which doesn’t make this a classic.

75. Out of Africa

J: My mom’s favourite film (I don’t know if that’s relevant or not). Don’t remember anything of it except great cinematography.

74. Drugstore Cowboy

J: Another one that I’ve seen and don’t really remember. What kind of critic am I? Oh wait — I was thinking of Midnight Cowboy. Which is older than 25 years anyway. Nevermind.

73. Office Space

gp: Funny for right now. Won’t hold up very well over the years though.

B: You mean once the humour has become irrelevant because society has moved past cubicle culture and people hating their jobs? Yeah, true.

T: I saw this again recently and it doesn’t hold up.

72. Thelma and Louise

gp: It’s not one of my favourites, but I can see it on this list. The much-parodied ending certainly packs a punch.

71. Unforgiven

gp: Surprised this was so low on the list. Bleak. Stark. Cold. Great film.

70. Broadcast News

J: Nope.

69. All About My Mother

J: I couldn’t stand Talk to Her (it’s one of the few movies I actually loathe), and so I’m gonna assume I’d hate this one too and argue it should not be on this list.

gp: I liked Talk to Her, and I was enjoying Volver before the airplane I was on landed and I couldn’t watch the rest. So I’m guessing I’d probably enjoy this one too.

68. Witness

gp: Peter Weir is amazing, and this is one of his highlights.

S: One of those rare good performances by Ford.

gp: What? We need to have a little talk . . .

67. Donnie Brasco

gp: Highly overrated. Sure, the performances are good, but the pacing lags. Wouldn’t get a nod on my list, so suck it EW.

B: Don’t be so mean to EW. I haven’t bought one in quite some time, but I had a subscription for about a decade. In fact, just a couple of months ago, I finally tossed most of them out. I realized halfway through that every EW for ten years may actually have been worth a fair penny on eBay.

66. Natural Born Killers

gp: Huh?

B: Yeah, an odd one here. This movie’s a curiousity, and it has its supporters, but I don’t think it’s impact was much beyond its initial controversy. Unless it’s so prescient that the stuff it was saying hasn’t even happened yet.

J: Like Bttf: II.

T: I saw this for the first time last year and wondered what all the fuss was about. If I’d seen it when it first came out it might have seemed more innovative.

65. Dirty Dancing

gp: Only on here to add ballast to all of the‘guy’ movies on the list. Certainly not for quality of filmmaking. But then again, I’m a guy so I would say that.

T: I’m a girl, so I can admit I cried the first time I heard “No one puts Baby in the corner” . . . if you define a classic as a movie you can enjoy again and again over a long period of time . . . well . . .

B: Didn’t care for it at all, but I think it fits here. I don’t think people are going to be forgetting about this movie any time soon. Also: Jennifer Grey looked so much better after the nose job, and yet it killed her career. How counter-intuitive.

J: I don’t mind this movie, and yes, by all definitions it is a classic (although if I wanted to watch the same movie, but more titallating, I would just throw on Coyote Ugly . . . okay, they’re not quite the same, but I’d still rather watch Coyote Ugly); but, again, so much higher up than Glory? In case you haven’t noticed, I really like Glory (and anything by Ed Zwick, really, even kind of Last Samurai, though I realize it’s pretty bad).

64. No Country for Old Men

gp: I guess this means Fargo will be higher up. This is definitely one of the Coens’ finest, and will only get better as the years pass.

T: I’ve already seen it about 10 times, and it gets better and better.

J: Haven’t seen it, and I know it’s probably awesome, but . . . see my Michael Clayton comment.

63. Big

gp: I suppose this means Vice-Versa and Like Father Like Son will also be higher up.

62. Sex, Lies and Videotape

61. Beverly Hills Cop

gp: Back when Eddie Murphy was funny. But is it better then Full Metal Jacket?? The answer to that is no.

J: Or . . . you know what I’m gonna say.

T: Classic theme music, for sure. And actually still pretty funny, or it was when I watched it a few months ago.

60. Scream

gp: Fun while it lasted, and smarter then most of its ilk. A classic though??

T: Definitely a classic. The first scary movie that made me think watching it would actually help me evade a serial killer.

B: Time to put that theory to the test, I say.

J: Don’t you dare.

T: Ha ha…?

59. L. A. Confidential

gp: Great cast, terrific atmosphere, keeps on getting better.

J: Should probably be in the top 5 though (or top 10 at the very least).

T: Agreed.

58. Ghostbusters

gp: We here at the Culturatti believe this film to be one of the greatest in the last 1,652 years of filmmaking (give or take). Therefore, I think I speak for all when I say: Number 58? WTF, EW??

B: The year 356 was damn good for film. But even through my glasses of objectivity, with my personal feelings visor flipped up, this should be higher on the list. Ain’t no one don’t love Ghostbusters.

S: I’m not allowed to comment, for the sake of my marriage.

J: Bill Murray gives one of the best comedic performances of all time in this film, and he’s never gotten the credit he deserves for it. Obviously I join my Culturatti brethen in launching a big FUCK YOU grenade at EW on this one.

57. There’s Something About Mary

gp: This beat Ghostbusters?? OMGWTF, EW!!!

B: “EW!!!” Very funny. Like you’re saying “Eww!!!” to the semen-as-hair gel scene. And this would be a contender for “laughing harder than South Park,” except that it isn’t. I laughed harder at South Park.

S: I didn’t laugh at all.

J: Haven’t seen it and don’t need to.

T: Gross-out humour, nonsense plot, but we’ll all remember that one shot in the bathroom scene forever.

56. The Lives of Others

T: You mean Das Leben der Anderen? This movie is fantastic, and I will cry when the American remake comes out in 2010.

B: Ooh, fancy with the non-English there. Yeah, a fine film, but I think we need a bit more distance than this to declare anything classic. EW should’ve gone and made this list from movies “released in the past 25 years not counting the last 5 or so years.”

55. Risky Business

gp: EW, if the only reason you can laud a film is because it launched Tom Cruise’s career, then we need to have a little talk . . .

J: And, higher than Glory??!! And Ghostbusters?!?!?! FFS!! #^f#%y#d#$#%

54. Fatal Attraction

J: Is this just basically Disclosure or Basic Instinct with a different title? Because if so, I’ve seen it — twice.

53. The Truman Show

gp: A very low-key film, but very good.

tk: The moment the ship runs into the sky is still one of those movie “a-ha!” moments that will be with me my whole life.

B: Like Far From Heaven, I love the movie, and lots of people love the movie, but I don’t know if it comes up enough to be considered “classic.”

S: Trite tripe.

52. The Naked Gun

gp: One of my personal favourite comedies.

51. There Will Be Blood

gp: I’ve been thinking about this film a lot since I saw it. It’s certainly a piece of bravado filmmaking, but I think it deserves some repeat viewings to really be appreciated.

B: Why don’t you just include Wall-E, EW?

T: I was really disappointed in this movie, but it did spawn this t-shirt, so decent acting be damned!

And even though EW has already published it, we all decided it would be fun to predict what they’ll put in their top spots. It’s cause we’re keen, and we each want to show off how obscenely knowledgeable we are of movies . . .

gp: In no particular order: The Usual Suspects, Pulp Fiction, The Shawshank Redemption, Schindler’s List, Goodfellas, Fargo, Saving Private Ryan, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Magnolia. I’m sure there will be some surprises on the list, one’s that they’ll throw in for controversy’s sake, but I think some of these will most definitely be in the top ten. One’s that I want to see in the top ten, but probably won’t be are: Children of Men, Out of Sight, Master and Commander, and Last of the Mohicans (though there will have to, have to be some Michael Mann representation, if not LotM, then ceratinly Heat or The Insider).

B: I’m not so sure about Magnolia. I think Boogie Nights is a better bet for more PTA inclusion. Children of Men has a shot. Master and Commander, I cannot picture that. Of the Manns, I’d bet on Heat.

I’d imagine they’ll clump the Lords of the Ringses together, and I’m thinking we’ll see some Fight Club, some Matrix, Jurassic Park, Memento, Aliens, Big Lebowski, Hoop Dreams would be cool, maybe the ’89 Batman, maybe Begins. Possibly Spider-Man, though maybe they’d go X-Men. Or not. Sixth Sense. Toy Story 2/Finding Nemo/The Incredibles/Rattatouie/Pixar’s Cancun Vacation Videos. And in the unfortunate-but-inevitable category, find Gladiator, the first Pirates of the Carribbean. (Please, not Crash.) Not-gonna-happen-but-wouldn’t-it-be-nice? Oldboy, Three Kings, Shaun of the Dead, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Iron Giant.

But now let’s have none of this pussy-ass “in no particular order” crap. What will the Top 5 look like?

B: 1. Shawshank, 2. Pulp Fiction, 3. Schindler’s List, 4. Lord of the Rings, 5. Saving Private Ryan

S: Somewhere in the top 10: Pulp Fiction, Titanic, Lord of the Rings, Gladiator or Braveheart, Sixth Sense, Traffic, Seven, Schindler’s List, Batman, and Beauty and the Beast.

J: I don’t really care what they do, as long as Shawshank is #1. If they can’t realize that this is the greatest movie of the last 25 years (let alone one of the five best all-time), then they have some serious problems.

Oh, and Backdraft should be in the top 50 somewhere.

gp: I was waiting for that.

T: I agree. Except for the Backdraft comment.

J: You don’t think graeme should have been waiting for it?

Part II

James' opinion of backdraft seriously blows...

03971semajllewopemearglaebmadallewopharasydennekaynat

8 Comments leave one →
  1. James17930 permalink
    Monday, June 23, 2008 9:23 pm

    I don’t know what’s going on with the formatting here. We’d probably have to comb through the code line by line, which obviously I don’t want to do.

    But let it be a lesson — no more pasting text into the applet.

    And I’m obviously joking about Backdraft.

  2. tgjkennedy permalink
    Tuesday, June 24, 2008 12:59 am

    I realize you were joking.

  3. James17930 permalink
    Tuesday, June 24, 2008 1:08 am

    I understand your realization.

    Oh, and, an update to the ‘no pasting text into the applet thing:’

    You can paste from Wordpad or Notepad — those dinky little programs don’t include any extra stupid code that messes things up. It’s only big programs like Microsoft Word or WordPerfect that you can’t paste from.

    So if you want to use Wordpad to Notepad to write something in first and then paste it in, go right ahead (or TextEdit, for those of us Mac-ily inclined).

  4. Tuesday, June 24, 2008 8:50 am

    We’ll getter all fixed up for the second list (and I do always post from Wordpad, but for some reason my computer and WordPress don’t always see eye to eye)

    Anyway, the second list should prove to be excitingly controversial (in a nerdy sort of way).

  5. James17930 permalink
    Tuesday, June 24, 2008 9:50 pm

    What did Harry and Hendersons have to do with everything again?

  6. Wednesday, June 25, 2008 9:36 am

    What doesn’t Harry and the Hendersons have to do with everything…ah…again?

  7. James17930 permalink
    Sunday, June 29, 2008 11:02 am

    This list, for one.

  8. James17930 permalink
    Monday, March 2, 2009 10:39 pm

    It seems that no matter what I do, this post will never be formatted properly.

    I cry.

Leave a Reply

