Skip to content

Wii Fit — Day Three/Four

Saturday, June 7, 2008

DAY FOUR:

Wii chastised me for not working out yesterday. Damn you Wii Fit! Don’t you know you’ve caused me pain?

I started my “workout” at about 11:30 pm at night, to see if I could cheat and get a stamp after midnight so this would count as two days. It worked! Makes me wonder about some of the people on the message boards who are saying this game is easy to cheat at. Why would you cheat at a game designed to make you more physically active?

The weigh-in today: I gained almost three pounds in two days. Wii is happy, and explains that a person can fluctuate up to 2 lbs over the course of one day, so I shouldn’t be crying in my McDonald’s chocolate shake. After playing for about 40 minutes, I did a body test for the next day and my weight had dropped by 1.3 lbs. I did forget to put down the remote control when being weighed the first time around though, so that might explain it. I think I might do some experiments with Wii’s weighing accuracy later. The other fantastic thing about my body test today? My Wii Fit age has dropped to 26. That’s almost my real age. I did not think this day would come so soon.

Other things I’ve noticed today:

Each day you do the body test you get a stamp. That might be my favourite part of Wii Fit – the stamping. If there was a game just about stamping I’d be all over that.

I’m only an amateur penguin impersonator.

I actually feel healthier. I blame yoga. Having not participated in any regular physical activity before this besides walking, I’m impressed that a video game is making me feel better physically.

I like that they show a treadmill and a bicycle in the workout room. These aren’t options in the Strength Exercises category, but it makes me feel like my trainer uses them to keep in shape when I’m not looking.

At this point, I’ve almost unlocked all of the games options. Once I do I’ll do a bit of a review of each one individually.

DAY THREE:

Too tired for Wii Fit. I did play Wario Ware: Smooth Moves for an hour or so though. That game rules! More Fit tomorrow.

DAY TWO:

Well . . . I woke up pretty sore, and gradually got sorer as the day progressed. This could not be just from Wii but from other factors (like falling off my motorcycle yesterday, or giving blood . . .).

I was thinking maybe I would take the day off, but then I got bored. The Wii congratulated me on my effort to train every day, and to tell you the truth, that actually made me feel a little proud.

The weigh-in today was a bit shocking. Despite eating a medium pizza for dinner, I somehow managed to lose 2 pounds since yesterday. Weird. It does offer the option to hide your weight from other users, which is nice for people who actually care about that kind of thing.

The agility tests were much more interesting this time around. One was actually just standing still — first with a little dot on a line showing your movement, then a dot with moving lines, and then with no dot to guide you. I never realized how difficult that could be (I suck). And today I’m 36 years old. Yikes. I think it might be the sore muscles.

I’ve noticed a few things about Wii Fit today that I didn’t notice yesterday. One is that it’s incredibly annoying how you have to use the Wii-mote to press A for everything. The people at Nintendo are freaking geniuses, aren’t they? Couldn’t they have put in a foot-tapping OK feature or something? I end up chucking the Wii-mote on the couch before every activity, and then scrambling to pick it up again after.

Also the Wii adds up the time you’ve spent training, and the more time you spend the more activities you enjoy. Sounds good, except they ROUND DOWN. Boo-urns to that.

This was the other interesting thing I noticed. Above, on the left we have a screen-shot of the female Wii trainer from the commercial. On the right we have the female Wii trainer now available in the game. Looks like her outfit was a little too sexy for the public.

wii

DAY ONE:

Sorry I couldn’t come up with a more interesting title for this post, but I’m too tired. I’ve been looking for this stupid game since it came out two weeks ago, but only today did I finally track one down, and in Ajax of all places. Thanks to Graeme for having the patience to put up with me while I heard “sold out” all over town and got more and more disappointed. When I did find one I did the patented happy dance (not part of Wii Fit’s exercise program).

Out of the box, the $90 price tag seems a little steep for what appears to be a big piece of plastic. I bought the two year replacement plan assuming that something I’m jumping on 4-5 times a week will probably get broken. I also bought one of the new skins for it, because… I don’t know… It’s for feet. And the skin feels nicer to stand on than the actual board.

Right off the bat I’m petrified for the thing to weigh me and calculate my BMI, since I haven’t weighed myself in a while and I eat a lot of pizza. I’m also scared since most of the reviews I’ve read have made mention of the Wii throwing the obese category around too much, but hallelujah, it thinks I need to gain some weight. I’m glad that it suggests we work on that by building muscle mass instead of my initial plan of eating more pizza.

The game is divided into Yoga, Strength Training, Aerobics, and Balance Games.

The Yoga was my favourite so far, and the reason I bought the Wii. I enjoyed the options currently available, although I have major issues standing on one leg. I loved that it reminded me when to breathe, because I kept forgetting to concentrate on breathing until the nice instructor said something. The graphics for the actual instructor could use some work. I know the design is meant to be simple but really! When he talks his mouth only sort of opens. Come on Nintendo, either match the movements to the syllables or go with the vibe that he’s telepathically talking to you in your mind or something.

The aerobics and balance games are hilarious. The hula hoop activity makes you actually feel like you are hula-hooping, which is surprising. The jogging is a ridiculous concept that somehow works, and I like that there are 11 different places around Wii Fit Island to be explored. I’m still waiting for the day when Miis aren’t cute anymore, but I don’t think it’s coming. My major complaints would be the difficulty (none) and that the stepping in a rhythm game made me wish I’d bought Dance Dance Revolution instead…

The balance activities that I’ve unlocked so far are interesting, and I’ll check them out more fully tomorrow. I didn’t try any of the strength exercises yet. In the end I played for about 45 minutes, and then my trainer told me to drink fluids and rest. See ya tomorrow, Wii.
ydennekaynat

15 Comments leave one →
  1. James17930 permalink
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 12:26 pm

    Shows how behind I am — I thought this came out months ago.

  2. tgjkennedy permalink
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 12:37 pm

    Ha ha. It did on your side of the world.

  3. James17930 permalink
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 12:46 pm

    Oh.

    Go Asia . . . you get fit.

  4. Wednesday, June 4, 2008 4:45 pm

    I reviewed Wii Fit in December on my diabetes awareness blog. i think it is a nifty piece of technology. when i come back in august can i try?

    http://inspiredbydiabetesme.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/now-wii-can-all-be-fit/

  5. tgjkennedy permalink
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 7:28 pm

    Of course you can try it!

  6. James17930 permalink
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 11:38 pm

    You have a blog about diabetes???

    Also, Tanya: if you want to post some pictures of yourself in same workout gear, it would not be unappreciated ;)

  7. tgjkennedy permalink
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 11:56 pm

    Ha ha ha.
    This will have to tide you over until I do:

  8. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, June 5, 2008 12:24 am

    The Yoga looks hard.

  9. tgjkennedy permalink
    Thursday, June 5, 2008 12:49 am

    It actually isn’t… but I have pretty good balance. I’ve been getting “yoga master” status on most of the ones available at the moment.

    Although I think my extreme pain today is all yoga related.

  10. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, June 5, 2008 2:00 am

    It’s a good pain though, unlike the falling-off-of-motorcycle-pain. Stop doing that!

  11. kelly permalink
    Monday, March 9, 2009 2:29 pm

    Hi, I have been reading your blog, I just started doing wii fit and I am in PAIN! The pain makes me not want to do it anymore, but reading your blogs is very entertaining. “so I shouldn’t be crying in my McDonald’s chocolate shake.” By the way, I too, would be in the stamping business. Good luck, c ya around

  12. kelly permalink
    Monday, March 9, 2009 2:30 pm

    and now i look at the date….

  13. James17930 permalink
    Tuesday, March 10, 2009 12:44 pm

    So — how is the Wii-fitting going there, Tanya?

Trackbacks

  1. Wii Fit - Day One

Leave a Reply

