Skip to content

The Dodos @ El Mocambo

Thursday, April 10, 2008

Recently a friend invited me out of my cave to see some live music. I was thrilled. Having never heard of the band, I promptly looked up one of their videos on YouTube. (Isn’t technology great?) I found this:

And listened to it 5 times over. This song (from their newest album Visiter) is infectious, and I can’t wait to see what the live show will be like.

Well the live show was way better than I could have hoped for. The Dodos are a 3 piece/sometimes 2 piece band from San Fransisco, and they were so energetic, and so obviously into making and performing great music, that you couldn’t help but be impressed. Half the songs feature just the drummer and the lead singer/guitarist, and the size and depth of the songs was incredible. I hate to say it, but they were way, way better than the opening act which featured not one but three guitars, violin, bass, and a clarinet player.

When the third member of the band participated (every other song or so) he rocked out on xylophone, which sounds corny but he pulled it off. Frequently it looked like the three of them were having a synchronized musical epileptic fit (see video for example).

The audience was clearly feeling it. Here’s a sample exchange:

Audience member: Rip it!

Audience member’s friend: Kick it!

Audience member: Either or!

Lead singer: Speaking of rips, can anyone sew a pair of jeans?

Girl in audience: I’ll sew your jeans!!

Girl’s friend: Hey, you have a boyfriend!

Girl in audience: I don’t care, they’re just so intense!

As well, just before they performed the last song the band announced that they didn’t have anywhere to stay and were seeking a place to crash. I would say they got about 15-20 immediate offers. This was their first time in Toronto, and I hope they remember us. We’ll definitely remember them.

ydennekaynat

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, April 10, 2008 11:23 am

    Damn, I wish I knew these guys had been in town. Visiter is an amazing album. Who was the opening act?

  2. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, April 10, 2008 11:57 am

    Apparently Mr. Crappy-pants.

  3. tgjkennedy permalink
    Thursday, April 10, 2008 1:46 pm

    No they weren’t that bad… there were just a lot of them, and I expect more from more.

    Some googling has informed me they were called Key Witness.

  4. James17930 permalink
    Monday, April 14, 2008 11:07 am

    The Visitor Verdict is: Delightful.

Leave a Reply

