Skip to content

Buffy – Season 8: A Beautiful Sunset

Thursday, February 21, 2008

So here we go again…13628.jpg

Thank jeebus! Finally we’ve got some story that actually makes direct reference to the show! This is sort of the comic I’ve been waiting for. It’s meaty, it tells you things, it’s got action and lesbian love – everything I look for in entertainment. Well, no. Kidding aside, this was another masterful read from the makers of Buffy Season 8.

*

Semi-Major Spoiler Alert!

*

We’re treading deeper into the mystery of the big-bad of this… season… in this issue. Although I must say, I didn’t really learn anything from the vague hints about him except that he seems to know a lot about Buffy and being a slayer. This makes me presume he’s going to be unveiled as someone we already know from the show, and I can’t decide if that makes me happy or sad, but I think sad.

I know in an interview Joss Whedon gave he mentioned that it’s difficult to start new characters in the comics that readers will have no emotional attachment to, in comparison to using characters with a history from the show. So mental check – who could Twilight be? Adam (with upgrades)? Riley? Is it Ethan (his death faked magically to provide a cover)? Tucker? I know these are stupid questions, and I’ll have to wait for the reveal. Also, this comic wins the “I Laughed So Hard I Dropped It” award for the über-funny non-reveal near the end.

We’re also getting into some pretty major character development here, specifically Buffy, which is nice to finally see. Everyone’s on board with what’s going on, now we can stop filling in back story and get on with the show (so to speak).

I know a lot of readers were questioning the whole who-kissed-Buffy thing, and in this issue the answer is discussed to great length, just in case you missed it. I wonder if that part of the story was planned before the confusion, or if the comic is evolving to meet the demands of its readers. It could be the latter, given the extensive reader letters and questions in the back of each issue. I think it will make for interesting reading in future, and I can’t wait!

Next issue: Wolves at the Gate Pt.1
ydennekaynat8yffub

2 Comments leave one →
  1. James17930 permalink
    Monday, February 25, 2008 1:17 am

    I wait in breathless anticipation. As should you!

  2. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, April 24, 2008 5:54 am

    I think it’s evolving as it goes as well. And yes, Twilight will almost certainly be someone from the past (I have a few ideas).

    But — the whole Satsu thing — if you go back to that issue, you can clearly see her outside fighting the zombie horde, and not in the room so as to kiss Buffy. This must have been a mix-up with the artist, and it’s kind of sad.

    Oh well. And can I just say — I wish I was Xander right now. ;)

Leave a Reply

