Skip to content

Buffy – Season 8: Anywhere But Here

Thursday, January 17, 2008

So I had to take some time really to process this one. Although I hated the cover, I loved what was inside. I had to read it 4 or 5 times to really appreciate it, and boy do I appreciate it. (Sorry James, I’ll be sending you the last 6 or so comics you’ve missed once the next one comes out. Had to make it worthwhile to post something to Asia).

** Semi-Major Spoiler Alert**

Again we have sort of a one off, written starting where the Faith series finished last month. The purpose of this issue seems to be wrapping up all the little questions that readers have been asking like “Where’s Kennedy?” and “Who’s the mysterious person who pays for this castle?” and “Why is Dawn big and why should I care?”

Haha. No really. The Dawn-as-giant thing was starting to make me think that the writers are drunk with power after being limited by television budgets for 7 seasons.

But anyway…

I really do believe this was the best comic to date. It wrapped up the questions in a non-obvious way, and made me laugh in the process. I think I stopped counting after seven different laugh out loud moments, the biggest of which was the great cameo by Christian Bale(s). I also thought that this was the first story that would not have been as good had it been featured as an actual part of the TV show.

With the laughing, however, comes the drama, and this issue had drama all over the place. That might be my only criticism. The show really did well creating realistic relationships despite the non-realistic premise, and the comics are a tad less subtle. I guess they have to be, so maybe that’s my hang-up with comics and not with the comic itself.

The end left me a little confused about where the season is really heading, with pretty much every major character mad at another major character by now, and a big-bad with vague yet threatening plans for the world being all… threaten-y.

So yes, I will run to the store and by each issue the day it comes out, but I’m doubtful about the future of this series once the novelty of having new Buffy material wears off.

Next month: Issue 11, “A Beautiful Sunset”, where Buffy will finally meet the villain.
8yffubydennekaynat

7 Comments leave one →
  1. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, January 17, 2008 10:48 pm

    That’s cool. I’m keeping an eye open for something to send to you — something along the lines of ‘ghost-sensing keychain,’ but I can’t really find anything.

    One day I’m just going to have to go shopping, find something and send it and not worry if it’s exactly right.

  2. tgjkennedy permalink
    Friday, January 18, 2008 11:54 am

    Same. Do you want the new Angel comics as well? Wait, I already know the answer to that. Apparently Clare has something to send you too…

  3. James17930 permalink
    Friday, January 18, 2008 12:53 pm

    I move on the 27th . . . I’ll send out my new address then!

  4. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, April 24, 2008 5:19 am

    Yeah this one was good but odd. I like the wrapping-up of stuff, but one thing about the show that always bugged me was when the characters would go on these huge guilt-trips over things that really weren’t their faults or they had no control over.

    Willow’s guilt about bringing Buffy back at the beginning of Season 6, for instance; how could she possibly know Buffy was happy where she was? And she had no idea Tara was going to get shot, so this whole thing of “choosing Buffy over Tara” is ridiculous — it literally makes no sense (unless they decide to do some ‘Willow saw into the future thing but did it anyway,’ but in that case you’d think she would have been a lot less upset about it since she would have known it was going to happen). So, if this becomes an actual Willow/Buffy schism trying to play for drama, on that flimsy premise, I’m going to be really pissed off.

    The art was awful. Georges Jeanty, and only George Jeanty, please, for the love of Jeebus.

    Also — I have a theory about Twilight . . . (and are we remembering our Fray?)

  5. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, April 24, 2008 5:33 am

    Unless by ‘the bullet’s path’ she just meant the general danger of having Buffy around. Then it would make sense and be okay. But if she’s moaning on about something which boils down to nothing more than the law of unintended consequences, then, again — annoying.

  6. tgjkennedy permalink
    Friday, April 25, 2008 10:09 am

    I think it’s just general guilt associated with meddling. She changed the path of things, and then someone she cared about died because she chose Buffy above everything. And she’s decided not to do that again.

  7. James17930 permalink
    Friday, April 25, 2008 12:57 pm

    Yeah, that’s a better reading.

Leave a Reply

