Skip to content

Buffy – Season 8: No Future For You

Friday, December 7, 2007

250px-nofutureforyou_tpbSo, what with James being busy in Taipei, I’ve been asked to take over the Buffy Season 8 reviews for the near future. Here goes!

**Major Spoiler Alert for those who haven’t read up to the end of available Buffy Comics**

The new story arc “No Future For You” is all about Faith. In the series, Eliza Dushku bothered me quite a bit, and I could never get behind her/Faith as a character. But for some reason she doesn’t bug me in comic book form, and I‘ve been eagerly awaiting each new part of this story. A recap: Faith’s been busy running death-errands for the new Scooby squad in Cleveland, led by possibly-also-a-watcher-now former principal Robin Wood. Seems she’s babysitting the other Hellmouth, but she‘s feeling unfulfilled. Good for her. Giles pops in to offer her a chance at early retirement if she can take out an evil slayer. Fun!

So off she goes to England to pretend to be English and infiltrate said evil slayer’s chum-dom. Genevieve (evil slayer) is being schooled in wickedness by a “passably attractive warlock” named Roden. Oh look! He’s got that twilight thingie. I wonder when we’ll get around to finding out what that means.

Anyway, on with the review portion of this review. I really liked No Future For You, up until I read Part 4. I liked it because it really felt like a well-rounded, multi-layered story. I could actually envision this being part of the Buffy TV Series without too much effort. I did have some issues with the conclusion. Maybe I’m too new to this whole comic thing, but it’s beginning to bother me that a character gets introduced (like Genevieve) and then once you get a feel for them they die. I’m also left with some questions like why does Buffy hate Faith a lot more than I remember? Did I miss something? Since I can’t recall any part of the new comics letting me in on the relationship status between Buffy and Faith, I’m left wondering why Giles and Faith are bonding over how Buffy’s not happy with either of them. Hopefully all will be revealed in the upcoming issues.

Also in Part 4, we finally get the big reveal of the “big bad” of the Season, “Twilight” (not a symbol anymore, now a dude who looks like a cross between Snake Eyes from G. I. Joe and that sand-filled baddie from Hellboy). I’m unimpressed, even though he can fly and talk funny. As for the “our man on the inside” comment that has the Dark Horse message boards going bonkers: yes, it appears there is someone inside the slayer pack that is evil. It’s probably not a main character. It’s probably not even a man. I’m guessing it’s a slayer-ette we haven’t even met yet, and they will be revealed to be treacherous before getting killed several pages later.

Until next time and the next issue “Anywhere but Here.” Anyone else already hate the cover? 8yffubydennekaynat

6 Comments leave one →
  1. James17930 permalink
    Sunday, December 16, 2007 10:39 pm

    I can’t wait until I can read this!

  2. Marie-lennette permalink
    Sunday, February 10, 2008 11:52 am

    i live in the uk and i have no source of getting the comic books. i have been a diehard buffy fan sinse it first appeared on our screans i even purchased props and merchendise however i can not seem to get any of season 8.
    help me!!!

  3. James17930 permalink
    Monday, February 11, 2008 3:59 am

    You can subscribe to Season 8 at http://www.darkhorse.com and get them mailed to you, plus, you might be able to order each individual issue through Amazon.com.

    Otherwise, you can wait until they come out in trade paperback editions and order them from Amazon. The first four issues, ‘The Long Way Home,’ have already been collected in this manner.

  4. James17930 permalink
    Thursday, April 24, 2008 4:42 am

    Thanks to the new coolest person in existence, I have now finally read this! Awesome!

    Yeah, I don’t really get the Buffy/Giles/Faith animosity either. I was thinking it might be because I haven’t read The Long Way Home in a while and I was forgetting something, but maybe not. I think it was all supposed to stem from that short phone conversation between Buffy and Giles in Pt. 3 of NFFY.

    I was okay with Genevieve getting killed though, because she was never meant to be an important character — merely a plot device to finally introduce Twilight. In TV terms, this would have been a two-part sweeps episode in November.

  5. tgjkennedy permalink
    Friday, April 25, 2008 10:11 am

    Ha ha. Thanks, buffy-master, for explaining that to me. But at this point I really was a newbie to the comic world, and hadn’t gotten used to the pacing yet. I have now though, and it’s all good.

  6. ooopinionsss permalink
    Tuesday, December 2, 2008 11:30 pm

    How you think when the economic crisis will end? I wish to make statistics of independent opinions!

Leave a Reply

