Skip to content

Pandora’s Box O’ Goodies

Tuesday, July 18, 2006
by

Frenchie sent me a really cool site yesterday — Pandora Internet Radio. It was created by the same folks who did The Music Genome Project, which is an attempt to find ‘the unique and magical musical identity of a song’ and then see how that relates to other music.

So now that that’s been done, you can make use of it through Pandora. You simply type in an artist or song that you like, and it’ll find things with a similar sound that you might also like. Then it builds and builds from there.

Once you open Pandora’s Box, you never know what can happen . . .eihcnerf 03971semaj

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, July 18, 2006 10:27 am

    I’ve tried Pandora a few times. It’s not bad, but I found the stuff it was pointing me to was all stuff I already new I liked (or stuff that I knew I didn’t like, but could understand the mixup). But I never kept it going all that long, because it seemed to jam up my system a fair bit, bog it all down. Made multitasking just about impossible. Still, it’s a good idea, I’ve still got it bookmarked, and I’ll poke around in there some more. In time, with some programming and interface improvements, it could be something pretty great, I’d bet.

  2. Tuesday, July 18, 2006 12:00 pm

    Yeah — and the other problem is that sometimes you don’t want to listen to a bunch of songs in a row that all sound the same.

    But it’s a neat concept.

  3. Tuesday, July 18, 2006 6:20 pm

    Is this the same or similar to the concept of ? I’ve never used either…just curious.

  4. Drew permalink
    Tuesday, July 18, 2006 6:22 pm

    err… that should read:

    Is this the same or similar to the concept of last.fm? …

  5. Wednesday, July 19, 2006 11:01 am

    Based on 4 seconds of reading at the last.fm site, there is similarity in that they both predict what you may like based on what you’ve stated you like, but my guess is that last.fm is more complex, in that it bases itself on everything you play on your computer, while Pandora starts with one song, then builds from there. Conversely, Pandora doesn’t require installation or anything, while last.fm appears to (and may also demand payment of some sort).

    But that’s just my extrapolation from 4 seconds of research.

  6. Wednesday, July 19, 2006 11:07 am

    That’s an impressive 4 secs.

Leave a Reply

